7min

Instance

An instance is a virtual machine that you can set up and configure via Segmind. You can connect to an Instance via JupyterLab or VS Code interfaces (IDEs).

Create an instance

  1. Click on the "+" button at the top right.
  2. Select "New Instance" to create a new instance.
  3. Fill up the parameters shown in the table below.
  4. Click on "Create" to go ahead and create the instance for you.

Configure

Comments

Name

Tweet Sentiment Extraction

Environment

Select an environment. Eg. Tensorflow 2.2.2, PyTorch 1.4, LightGBM, XGBoost. You can add custom packages once you have started the instances.

Size

Select the CPU, Memory, and GPU from available templates. You can change this anytime later.

IDE

Select an interface also called Integrated Development Environment. Choose between JupyterLab and VS Code.

Storage

Storage attached to the instance. Shutting down instances will retain the storage. Deleting instances will delete the storage

Project

Connect a project to track its activities and costs.

Datastore

Select a datastore to connect to. Learn more about Datastore here.

Spot

Select this to run the instance on spot mode. Instances that can be terminated at any time without notice. Spot instances are much cheaper (~ 50%) than normal instances and can be used to run non-critical workloads.

Stop an instance

To stop an instance, click on the "Stop Notebook" button found under the settings tab on an instance page. Once you stop an instance, you won't be charged for the instance.

Restart an instance

You can restart an instance from the /dashboard or /instances page. Click on the "Start Notebook" button to get back into an instance. You can specify the Size and IDE while restarting an instance.

Move between any instance to scale up or down depending on your compute and memory requirements. To know more about available sizes, check out our pricing page.

Delete an instance

You can delete an instance from the settings menu on the right side of the Instance page. Remember that you will lose access to the environment you created and the data stored on the instance permanently when you delete the instance.



Updated 24 May 2022
Did this page help?
Yes
No